Does anyone have a business degree?

Options
2»

Comments

• killap
    killap Members Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited January 2011
    Options
    A business degree is stupid too general...do something more specific a business degree is like a communications or psychology degree...only way I would suggest you get one is if you plan on getting a MBA or you can't hack accounting, finance, economics, etc
  • Maalik
    Maalik Members Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited February 2011
    Options
    I go to Howard U. Currently I'm a Sophomore Economics major. I got a 4.00 GPA & I'm weighing my options on if I should transfer over to the School of Business & do Finance. Alot of Investment Banks (i.e. Golman Sachs, JP Morgan, B of A) hire from Howard & Im not sure if they'll discriminate a ? because I'm not a finance kid & chose economics instead. After school, I either want to go into Banking, Consulting or go to Law School/BIGlaw. So yea....I'm in the same boat.

ButtahB....if you still post on here. I'd suggest you try

East Coast:
    * NYU Stern (Grenwich Village, NYC)
    * UPenn Wharton (Philly, Ivy League)
    * UVA (2 hours from DC, great public university)
    * Northwestern Kellogg (Evanston, Chicago neighborhood)
    * UMichigan Ross (20 minutes from Detroit)
    * Howard University (Washington DC, good for Wall Street & Consulting)
    * Morehouse College (Downtown Atlanta, same as Howard)

West Coast:
    * USC Marshall (Downtown L.A.)
    * UCLA (Malibu)
    * UC Berkeley Haas (15 minutes from San Francisco)
    * Stanford (30 minutes from San Francisco)

All these schools have good business or econ programs. If you interested in film making, you could double major at USC in the Business & the Film School (very famous school, huge network). Since you'll only be there two years, the loans wont ? you. I'd suggest applying to all the schools..........guessing you're black (read: minority), with a 3.65 & good test scores, you're definitely not a bad applicant.