A Word About Conspiracies (Excerpt From "Crossing The Rubicon")

Bully_Pulpit
Bully_Pulpit Members Posts: 5,501 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited October 2011 in The Social Lounge
A word about conspiracies
I am an investigator and a journalist. It is not my business to speculate, and my
reasoning is not theoretical. As a detective it is my job to gather evidence, consider
its authenticity, posit a hypothesis, and test that hypothesis against the larger
pattern of facts. So much for “theory.” As for the word “conspiracy,” it’s among the
most common terms in the rigorous legal language of American jurisprudence. A
conspiracy is generally defined as two or more people who plan to commit an illegal
act and who then take one or more specific actions in furtherance of that plan.
Conspiracy is a very real term for tens of thousands of minority men and women
in the United States who are serving sentences of — in some cases — more than
twenty years in federal penitentiaries like Leavenworth for “no-drug conspiracies.”
In many of those cases someone talked about acquiring drugs and someone else
made a phone call asking if someone else had the drugs (in many cases only in very
small amounts), and that’s all it took to throw away the lives of these non-violent
offenders.
One of the most trumpeted themes in the post-9/11 world has been a blanket
assertion that such a large conspiracy (if conducted within the US government)
could never be concealed from the American people or the people of the world
before the crime was committed. It has been sounded by the likes of David Corn
at The Nation and former National Security Counterterrorism Chief Richard
Clarke. Clarke wrote in his 2004 bestseller Against All Enemies,
Conspiracy theorists simultaneously hold two contrary beliefs: a) that
the US government is so incompetent that it can miss explanations
that the theorists can uncover, and b) that the US government can
keep a big and juicy secret. The first belief has some validity. The second