Ya Majesty is in the building

G.Avant
G.Avant Members, Writer Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭✭✭
What's up with everybody? My beat making name is Majesty and I'm an aspiring producer just really getting started trying to gain skill and experience. Here's my track "Ya Majesty". Let me know what you think.

Comments

• konceptjones
    konceptjones Guests, Members, Writer, Content Producer Posts: 13,139 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Don't like it.

Pad sounds like the General MIDI "Fantasy" sound, reverb abuse all throughout the track, no low end at all, the Christmas jingle bells are completely out of place (get rid of 'em)... There's no substance to the track and little structure.
  • G.Avant
    Don't like it.

Pad sounds like the General MIDI "Fantasy" sound, reverb abuse all throughout the track, no low end at all, the Christmas jingle bells are completely out of place (get rid of 'em)... There's no substance to the track and little structure.

alright appreciate the feedback
  • LUClEN
    LUClEN Members Posts: 20,559 ✭✭✭✭✭
    sleigh bells are wayy too loud, and i agree with koncept. Change them for some nice hats maybe.

That 808 kick you have is weak in the low end, too much mid in it imo

That pad is very weak. Needs to be layered or something. You try Nexus? Much better preset pads if you dont like building synths
  • CeLLaR-DooR
    CeLLaR-DooR Members Posts: 18,880 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2012
    I'd replace the bells with rides...and i'd probably put em' every 4 beats, as opposed to every second...The kick doesn't have enough thump...lil trick some folk use is to have a kick over the 808 kick...Erm...Maybe put in another riff?...a lead or piano, maybe?
  • konceptjones
    I'll throw this out to you (any anyone else that cares to know). The single best 808 kick I've ever come across can be found on TAL's (Togu Audio Line) Elek7ro plugin. The patch name is "Miami" something or other, can't remember it 'cause I'm not in front of my DAW.

Best part: Elek7ro is 100% free.