Who says all women in the Army\Marines are hideous trolls?

Options
Darth Sidious
Darth Sidious Members Posts: 2,507 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited July 2013 in For The Grown & Sexy
Megan Welter might just change your mind!

Megan Welter is not your typical pro-football cheerleader. There is no denying the sport is tough—cheerleading accounts for 60-70 percent of catastrophic injuries among female high school athletes—but this 28-year-old member of the Arizona Cardinals squad has a background not generally associated with pompoms and hot pants. She's a United States Army veteran who served as a platoon leader in Iraq.

Welter started doing baby ballet classes when she was 3 years old and danced competitively from the age of 9. After high school, she participated on her college dance team. When she graduated in 2007, she shelved her dreams of a career in dance. "The war was going on at the time when I graduated college," she told ABC15. "I wanted to take a job that was going to be meaningful, so I decided to join the Army."

ca27a7e4-1df9-432e-b410-bdb5f533dc73_630_cardinalspost.jpg

Welter completed basic training and then enrolled in Officer Training School. "I was commissioned a second lieutenant at the end of April in 2007," she said. "And from there I became cable platoon leader and I deployed a month later from Henning Air Force base] to my unit to Iraq."

The third generation soldier—her father and grandfather both served in the military-—knew that, by going into officer training, she had a "100 percent chance" of being sent to Iraq. "I thought it was the right thing to do," she told azardinals.com in a 2012 video profile. "I was deployed to Joint Base Belad which is about an hour north of Baghdad. At first, it was, it was scary you know, but…it's what I signed up to do." She was only 23 years old and in charge of the maintaining the communications network for the largest base in Iraq. "It was definitely a sink-or-swim type of experience."