Ny Post columnist Phil Mushnick rips Adrian Peterson’s character in possibly worst column ever...

Options
stringer bell
stringer bell Members Posts: 26,212 ✭✭✭✭✭
smokingsection.uproxx.com/TSS/2013/10/phil-mushnick-adrian-peterson-son-death
Here’s the title of the article Phil Mushnick wrote for the New York Post: Son’s death doesn’t make Adrian Peterson a great guy. I’m supposed to write something witty here, I know it. But seriously, f*ck Phil Muschnick. As a writer I encourage people to read more than just the headline to get the full story, but in this case, the title says it all.

"Thus it was unsurprising Peterson’s downside went ignored. In 2009, he was busted for driving 109 mph in a 55 mph zone. He dismissed that as no big deal, which was doubly disturbing — his older, full brother was killed by a reckless driver.

Last summer, Peterson was in a club when he and friends were informed that it was closing time, past 2 a.m. Apparently, Peterson and pals felt they would decide when it was time to close. The police report noted three cops were needed to subdue Peterson.
"

The club case Mushnick is referring to, is a nightclub incident that merited no charges after a grand jury listened to his side of the story for 25 minutes. Mushnick thinks it validates his anti-Peterson point to suggest he was ready to play too soon after the boy’s death:

"Me? I’d be fighting for breath, my knees weak with grief, demanding to know why, who, how. Then, I suspect, I’d seethe with rage, swearing retribution. I even think I’d take off a day or two from work. Maybe a week."

As if players haven’t declared millions of times that playing can help them cope from loss. How the camaraderie of teammates allows them to feel normal again.

"With his resources, how could Peterson, the NFL’s MVP, have allowed his son to remain in such an environment? Did he not know, or not care? Or not care to know? Or not know to care?