Video Editing, How Do I Get Started?

Preach2Teach
Preach2Teach Members Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭✭✭
So I don't know ? about video editing and I have recently developed an interest and want to learn, anybody have any good tips for me? any recommendations on what program I can use to get me started?

Comments

• Manc
    Manc Members Posts: 376 ✭✭✭✭
    It depends on your system. Whether you're using apple or PC. If you're using a Mac then I would say Final Cut Pro is pretty user friendly and there's an abundance of plugins you can purchase for stuff like editable intros and such. Adobe Premier is what I use as it can be used on both systems plus you can combine with other adobe products such as photoshop and after effects.

I'm completely self taught from a website called lynda.com. They have tutorials on most software and practice files to use as you follow along. Through using that I was able to teach myself in about a week span and start doing club promotion videos for my friends for some cash on the side. Once you get the hang of shortcuts both softwares are very straight forward. Personally I use Adobe Premier as I am a PC user. But the plugins for youtube and stuff that I can use with Final Cut Pro shorten a lot of editing time and make stuff look professionally done.
  • konceptjones
    konceptjones Guests, Members, Writer, Content Producer Posts: 13,139 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2017