How Do You Determine The Price Of A Beat?

The Prime Minister
The Prime Minister Members Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited October 2010 in Fresh Produce
I'm stuck on this one.

I messed around and cooked up some fire, but I'm new to the selling part.

Is there a formula?

Comments

• drematic
    drematic Members Posts: 234
    edited October 2010
    lease it for the low to the cheapskates and sell the exclusives to the highest bidder
  • Kang_Solomon_Grundy
    Kang_Solomon_Grundy Members Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭
    edited October 2010
    I usually go by who I'm selling it to. Industry cat with a budget? No less than 5 g's.....if they're a real artist, it shouldn't be a problem. Hood artist/dope boy type? I try to shoot for a couple of g's, or work out a package deal (2 or 3 for 5): their ill-gotten money will look better in your pocket, so don't sell yourself short. If a person can't afford $500 to $1000, then they shouldn't be trying to buy a beat in the first place. A lot of times someone's enthusiasm clouds their judgment from reality - it takes money to make money. They're gonna' have to pay a reputable studio $50 to $100 an hour to record, or spend hundreds, maybe even thousands on studio equipment; not to mention advertising and marketing of the song/project. If they haven't thought that far ahead, then they're probably not worth your time anyway. Now, obviously, it's gonna' be up to you in the end, but remember your importance in the situation - especially if you've got heat - that hot beat could potentially make a hit song worth money for everybody involved. I hope this helps ya' out and good luck!!!!
  • The Prime Minister
    The Prime Minister Members Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2010