10 years in Afghanistan.....can we admit this war is lost and a failure now? *Poll*

Options

Comments

• shootemwon
    shootemwon Members Posts: 4,635 ✭✭
    edited October 2010
    Options
    Well, they did govern Afghanistan at the time and knowingly housed Bin Laden and Al-Queda there. Back then I was a sophomore in highschool so I didn't really know to much about it outside of what the TV said, but weren't they refusing to allow us to send Spec Ops in after Bin Laden?

Well I'm not saying they weren't a hostile regime. Sure, they weren't on our side, but they aren't the ones who attacked us. As far as Spec Ops, I'm not sure, but do we really gotta get permission from their offbrand regime to send in spec ops to get Bin Laden?
  • ThaChozenWun
    ThaChozenWun Members Posts: 9,390
    edited October 2010
    Options
    shootemwon wrote: »
    Well I'm not saying they weren't a hostile regime. Sure, they weren't on our side, but they aren't the ones who attacked us. As far as Spec Ops, I'm not sure, but do we really gotta get permission from their offbrand regime to send in spec ops to get Bin Laden?

I would guess to allow us to take him. If we caught him unless we secretly flew out of the country they could have halted it and kept him there. It wouldn't have been a good idea to fly into hostile territory anyway. More than likely the thought didn't cross the minds of the Pentagon anyway considering Clinton had special operations in there during his time looking for Bin Laden but I figured it could have been a possibility. I'll have to look into it, but the likely scenario is Bush just wanted a full out war.
  • shootemwon
    edited October 2010
    Options