Options
13»

Comments

• allreasoned_out
    allreasoned_out Members Posts: 2,696 ✭✭
    edited May 2011
    Options
    da champ wrote: »
    before i was a teacher i was a teacher's assistant. the school had 25 book campaign (tried to get everyone in the school to read 25 books).

because a lot of young males don't read, i took it upon myself to participate in the campaign by reading books from the school library and recommending them on the morning announcements. when one of them kids said, "every time i see you you're always holding a book. why do you act so white Mr. ______?" it just broke my heart.

seriously? some of our youth consider education or even just reading to be a white person's hobby?

Yeah, that's just sad.
  • playmaker88
    playmaker88 Members Posts: 67,905 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited May 2011
    Options
    before i was a teacher i was a teacher's assistant. the school had 25 book campaign (tried to get everyone in the school to read 25 books).

because a lot of young males don't read, i took it upon myself to participate in the campaign by reading books from the school library and recommending them on the morning announcements. when one of them kids said, "every time i see you you're always holding a book. why do you act so white Mr. ______?" it just broke my heart.

seriously? some of our youth consider education or even just reading to be a white person's hobby?

Damn... smh lol.. Starts at home
  • H-Rap 180
    H-Rap 180 Members Posts: 15,452 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited May 2011
    Options
    What is wrong with 'acting white'?
    According to some people, if you

are racist
    speak against equal-rights
    are hateful and xenophobic
    don't believe that tolerance has to be a part of your demeanor.
    etc.

then you're 'acting white'*

But if that is acting white, what is wrong with it?

Smh @ these people reserving all these things for white people.