"content'' the most overrated thing in hiphop and the biggest excuse to hate

Comments

• usmarin3
    usmarin3 Members Posts: 38,013 ✭✭✭✭✭
    buttuh_b wrote: »
    ptowndonte wrote: »
    Like I said before. Dudes like Jay-Z and etc might not talk about the negatives and all the ? up ? going on in the world, but he does talk about something people are going to relate to. The ? struggling to feed his kids, riding the city bus to his minimum wage job might not be able to relate to Jay-Z rapping about a new Ferrari, so to him he ain't talking about ? , but the black lawyer or doctor who worked hard to get where he is, who pulls up to his office in his Ferrari damn sure can relate

False. As a young upwardly professional I can't relate to none of the ? he talks about.

Doctors and Lawyers ain't driving maybachs. That's reserved for rich white executives of large corporation.

It's not about the material possession you ? , it's about the drive, strive for success. You ? aren't on the street fighting whitey or shooting AK's in at the oppressers out here but ya'll still manage to relate to these "conscious" rappers.
  • rip.dilla
    rip.dilla Members Posts: 17,412 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I reckon millions of Jay-Z's fans aren't multi-millionaires like he is

So when does his musical "content" appease those fans?
  • usmarin3
    If it's subjective then how is it not important when forming an opinion? That makes no sense at all. It may not be important to you but to the people who are actually into music, content is one of the most important aspects. Especially in rap where the focal point is on lyrics and drums more than anything compared to other genres, you gon get tired of hearing a rapper talk about the same ? over and over again, hence why you listen to a variety of rappers. More versatile rappers like Nas get more burn from me because they can keep me engaged with their creativity.