How old do you need to be to witness a player?

Options
bow to royalty
bow to royalty Members Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭✭✭
Not too busy in the CS right now, so I figure I'd make a thread.

We've all seen dudes up here talking about players/teams they watched back in the day. But does their memory and opinion really hold weight? Like Jordan for example. I'm knocking on 30's door, and I can't claim Jordan like that. I say someone needs to be about high school age to really witness a player, be old enough to evaluate his game, and not just be caught up on what other people tell them about the player.

What are your opinions on how old you need to be to really say you grew up watching a player/team?

Comments

• lord nemesis
    lord nemesis Members Posts: 11,946 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    I'd say middle school. At least for me that's when I gained a true appreciation of certain athletes and developed an analytical eye. That's also when I started playing sports myself so there's probably a correlation there
  • bow to royalty
    Options
    I'd say middle school. At least for me that's when I gained a true appreciation of certain athletes and developed an analytical eye. That's also when I started playing sports myself so there's probably a correlation there

I can see that. I had to think of what age I'd have a real sports convo with a kid at. If an 11-12 year old tried to have one with me right now, I probably wouldn't take him serious.
  • king hassan
    king hassan Members Posts: 22,739 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    11-12 for me. And I was congnizant of Dr J when I was younger but wasn't watching like that
  • Valentinez A. Kaiser
    Valentinez A. Kaiser Members Posts: 9,028 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Yeah you've got to be 11-12 min in general.
    That's also usually the age that you're playing said sport to the degree of understanding different positions, tactics, rules etc so the appreciation is there for witnessing greatness
  • bow to royalty
    Options