When Did Being Smart and Doing Well in School Start to be Considered "White?"

Options

Comments

• Paul Hate.
    Paul Hate. Members Posts: 4,538 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Wow I've never seen a black dude reject educated people.ive seen blacks reject people that are seen as having white people habits and interests so to speak.

Like when I was growing up a skateboarder in the ghetto was asking to get smacked in the face.lol..

I mean it's wrong but so be it.you think crackers don't shun wiggers..

• Drgoo0285
    Drgoo0285 Members Posts: 513 ✭✭
    Options
    As a teacher I see black kids reject education all the time. A teacher will be like "open your books" and kids will suck their teeth and get attitudes, and sometimes they will just act a fool to the point it's impossible to teach.

They've never said it was a "white" thing to do, but the subtext of their behavior is there.
  • KrazySpade
    KrazySpade Members Posts: 52
    Options
    i think people dont want to see other people doing better then they are doing themselves, so the "cool" kids who are too lazy to do school work will indirectly clown on the other kids who will do their work. then it just depends if the kid will give in to the peer pressure to try to fit in, or if they wont care what they say and continue to do their school thing.

unfortunately i think most kids will take the negative route just because its easier and more appealing at the moment. but some kids do see the big picture in the long term.
  • CashmoneyDux
    CashmoneyDux Members Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Wait, I feel as if some of you who agree with T/S also said that you do not need a degree in the other thread
  • Ajackson17
    Ajackson17 Members Posts: 22,501 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options